Select Page

Certifications and Awards

The Department is certified by the Ohio Collaborative Community-Police Advisory Board. This program was developed by the State of Ohio so police departments within the state developed a set of common standards.  For 2020 there are currently 8 standards agencies are rated on:

Group 1 Standards (added in 2015)
Use of Force
Use of Deadly Force
Agency Employee Recruitment and Hiring

Group 2 Standards (added in 2016)
Body Worn Cameras
Community Engagement

Group 3 Standards (added in 2017)
Investigation of Employee Misconduct
Bias Free Policing
Law Enforcement Telecommunicator Training

Group 4 Standard (added in 2020)

Law Enforcement Vehicular Pursuit

Departments seeking certification go through an assessment of policies and practices on each standard by outside evaluators every two years.  The Department was certified in the Group 1 standards in 2017 and re-certified on this group in 2019.  We received Group 2 & 3 certification in 2019. 

For more information on this certification go to


The AAA Community Traffic Safety Awards Program (CTSAP) is a AAA club-based awards program for communities of all sizes. Awards are given to outstanding communities based on their efforts to improve local traffic safety for all modes of travel.  Award levels are Platinum, Gold, Silver and Bronze. Points are awarded for having an active Traffic Safety Committee, participation in AAA Traffic Safety Programs, efforts in Education, Engineering, and Enforcement (the 3 E’s), and statistical measures of success.

2017 Gold

2018 Platinum

2019 Platinum